Recent Reviews

The Stonehenge Letters by Harry Karlinsky

reviewed by Nina Allan

19 September 2014

This is a charming and erudite book, flawlessly executed.

This Strange Way of Dying: Stories of Magic, Desire & the Fantastic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

reviewed by Foz Meadows

17 September 2014

With stories set in the past, the present and the future, This Strange Way of Dying reads as a poetic journey through time, showcasing Moreno-Garcia's talent for evocative brevity.

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

reviewed by Adam Roberts

15 September 2014

I think this series wants to be a twenty-first century Darkover.

Call and Response by Paul Kincaid

reviewed by Liz Bourke

12 September 2014

Reviewing a collection of reviews, after a while, begins to feel like a project that sits at the intersection of "self-indulgent" and "self-referential" best expressed as "meta."

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

reviewed by James Smythe

10 September 2014

This isn't a book that dips its toes into genre waters; it's immersed in them.

Short Fiction Snapshot #10: "Dagon's Bargain" by Gehayi

reviewed by Erin Horáková

08 September 2014

"Dagon's Bargain" is dedicated to creating and knowing characters, and its interest in doing so feels itself fanfictional.

Genre at Fringe 2014, part 2

reviewed by Erin Horáková

05 September 2014

Our correspondent's continuing adventures with genre productions at Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Fringe 2014, part 1

reviewed by Erin Horáková

03 September 2014

Our correspondent reports on some speculative and fantasy-tinged productions at this year's Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

The Madonna and the Starship by James Morrow

reviewed by Molly Katz

01 September 2014

James Morrow has a talent for breathing poignancy and life into what might, in less deft hands, read like a ham-handed satirical lecture.

Archived Reviews

View older reviews in our Archive, thanks to the kindness of our authors who allow us to keep their material online.