Recent Reviews

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

reviewed by Catherine Rockwood

23 September 2016

Vampire fiction has something Chee wants, as fuel for the engine of his 553-page novel about the fortunes of Lilliet Berne, a nineteenth-century celebrity soprano. But he doesn’t seem to want the cross-contamination.

Stranger Things

reviewed by Richard Cooper

21 September 2016

We can see what the Duffer Brothers were raised on, but what might their children being raised on, other than new versions of those same things?

Hwarhath Stories by Eleanor Arnason

reviewed by Kelly Jennings

19 September 2016

In hwarhath tragedy, the characters act right. That is, they make the choice their culture says they should make, and because of this, they die, tragically. This is hwarhath serious literature, remember. This is the correct cultural ethos. But we are not reading hwarhath serious literature. We're reading not just hwarhath fiction, but subversive hwarhath fiction.

Apocalypse: An Epic Poem by Frederick Turner

reviewed by Adam Roberts

16 September 2016

Can Turner wrestle something new from all
This rubble of forgotten history,
The wasteland of a scholar’s pedantry?

Kingfisher by Patricia A. McKillip

reviewed by Gautam Bhatia

16 September 2016

It seems that McKillip is inviting us to ask ourselves: did all those glorious quests really matter? Who did they matter to? Were they as central to the fate of the world as their protagonists would have us believe?

Job Simulator

reviewed by Iori Kusano

14 September 2016

One of the things that attracts me to games set in the future is the idea that we'll be, collectively, doing better. On its surface, Job Simulator appeared to offer just that.

I Am No One by Patrick Flanery

reviewed by Nina Allan

12 September 2016

Neither is there a sufficiently developed literary irony for us to suppose that Jeremy’s general dickheadedness serves a higher purpose.

Twelve Tomorrows edited by Bruce Sterling

reviewed by Z. Irene Ying

09 September 2016

These stories are important for today's readers, as much as and perhaps even more than ambitious stories about post-scarcity futures or AI shipminds.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

reviewed by Katy Armstrong

07 September 2016

The best thing about the eighth Harry Potter adventure is the staging, followed by the acting; the worst thing about it is the plot.

Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee

reviewed by Phoebe Salzman-Cohen

05 September 2016

Ninefox Gambit's is a world that confronts you with its own depth.

Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer

reviewed by Paul Kincaid

02 September 2016

Carlyle’s view of the world was both selfish and hierarchical, and, for all its protestations of an Enlightenment model, in detail the world of Too Like the Lightning is closer to what Carlyle might have imagined.

Star Trek Beyond

reviewed by Tim Phipps

31 August 2016

I'm here to review a film. When the end credits roll, I know that I'm meant to go home and distil my impressions into words. Yet here the credits are, and I don't really feel like I understand what I've just watched.

The Explorers Guild Volume One: A Passage to Shambhala by Kevin Costner, Jon Baird, and Rick Ross

reviewed by Aishwarya Subramanian

29 August 2016

To sweep, you've got to have sufficient space in which to move, and the protagonists of these narratives are traditionally entitled to any territory they wish to traverse.

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories by Ken Liu

reviewed by K. Kamo

26 August 2016

Liu is an outstanding writer, this book is excellent, and when future generations look to exemplify the zeitgeist of early twenty-first century speculative fiction this will be one of the first volumes to which they turn. However, my blood's up so let's get back to those metaphors.

Archived Reviews

View older reviews in our Archive, thanks to the kindness of our authors who allow us to keep their material online.